Natural Hair Styling Ideas

Natural Hair Styling Ideas – Mini Twists


Enchanté Belles,

Today we are discussing a great protective style known as Mini Twists, 2 Strand Twists but much smaller.

Pros of Mini Twists:

  1. An excellent protective style for your tresses, which can last from 2 to 4 weeks.
  2. Once in, you can style your hair up, down, on the sides, and in a bun, all according to your length.
  3. Easy daily maintenance, try to be consistent.

Cons of Mini Twists:

  1. Takes many hours to install, depending on how long your hair is, an average of 3 to 6 hours.
  2. Have to make sure you prepare your hair well or else, Desert Dry City Week 1!
  3. Depending on your hair texture, your hair may start to loc after 2 or 3 weeks.

Below are the best sites I found for information on mini twists, just click on the name of each site:

FROSTOPPAProvides pictures plus what she used to achieve style, her hair is amazing and her twists are lovely.

NAPTURAL85 – Has an excellent video on how to properly twist our hair so the style can last as long as you wish.

CURLY NIKKI – Gives step-by-step detail on how to do the style plus has pictures so you can follow closely.

Here is what I did to achieve my mini twists (Mom did them for me, so kinda cheated, gotta love our Mamas):

  • Finger-Detangled hair with VO5 Conditioner mixed with 1 tbs of Olive Oil.
  • Ran wide teeth comb to make sure she was cleared up enough.
  • Washed hair with VO5 Shampoo and did a Black Tea Rinse.
  • Applied this awesome treatment posted by HappyKinksForever, (left in my hair instead of washing out), click here.
  • Did a roller set with the above treatment and my Tresemme Conditioner, and left it to air dry for 12 hours.
  • The next morning, Mom did twists and added Oyin Burnt Sugar Pomade to my ends, 5 hours later, TADA, DONE 😀

Yes, I know, a lot of work but well worth it. Maintenance will be LCO method every 4 days plus pineapple and satin bonnet at night. Intend to keep these lovelies in for 2 or 3 weeks, my hair starts to loc after 2 weeks, so have to keep an eye on her. Here are some pictures:

Smiles

Side


      

Back
* Thank you for reading Belles & Have an Enchanting Evening *

“Isle of  Azure”

12 thoughts on “Natural Hair Styling Ideas – Mini Twists”

    1. My Mom did them girl 😀 Will try to do the same look in about 2 weeks and will post. No worries girl, took me 2 plus just to learn the basics and still learning 🙂
      Smiles!!!

  1. Those twists are tre-cute! My hair? Curl central, so no twists like that, but I’m having fun with my own styles. Keep up the great work sis! Smooches!

    KB
    Minx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.