Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Oluwalonimi Aworinde


!!!!!!!!!!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS POST!!!!!!!!!!!!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!APRIL EXCLUSIVE FEATURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DSCN4972

!!!Our Beautiful Natural Sister all the way from Ibadan, Nigeria with a gorgeous name!!!

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy My Queens,

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A:  Hi everyone, my name is Oluwalonimi Aworinde. Most people call me Nimi. I’m a medical student, hair stylist and blogger at naturalnimi.wordpress. com. I live in Lagos, Nigeria,  although I’m originally from Ibadan, also in Nigeria.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: I was so desperate to get the natural look, and so I big chopped straight up.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I’ve been natural since June 2013, so that’s about 3 years. I had another big chop in March 2015.

4) What made you return natural?

A: I’ve always loved styling hair. One day, I watched a YouTube tutorial where a lady with natural hair did a Bantu knot out. I tried it out on my relaxed hair, and was disappointed that mine didn’t come out as nice as the vlogger’s. After watching a few more natural hair style tutorials, I decided to cut my hair.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: The first year was very difficult. I had never had to take care of my hair myself. I had never even shampooed my hair myself before. After about 3 months of total cluelessness, I found a few hair groups on Facebook where I learnt how to care for my hair.

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: I love the texture of my hair. I have thick 4c hair, and the thought of losing that really coily texture frightens me

7) Your 3 favorite products and why? A:

  1. Coconut Oil – It’s the only oil that doesn’t make my scalp itch cause it’s so light (My scalp is  quite sensitive).
  2. Cantu Argan Oil Leave-In – It keeps my hair moisturized, makes it so soft, and the smell… lovely 🙂
  3. Mayonnaise – Yeah, like the type you eat. It’s an excellent deep conditioner. Works perfect for me.

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love everything about it(except shrinkage). I love the beautiful texture, I love the way it defies gravity, I love it’s  versatility. I can go on and on.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: Washing! I hate dealing with the shrinkage that comes with it.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: By always wearing my hair in a neat and beautiful way. Also on my blog, I share my hair stories and try to show others how to easily manage even the most “stubborn” hair.

         

 11) So far in your journey, what is your favorite hair style? 

IMG_20150928_124257

A: The puff!!!

   

Natural Beauty  – Styling

PicsArt_03-11-04.45.01

PicsArt_1416920002083

IMG_20151021_134214IMG_20150904_145939

 
Natural Beauty 
DSCN4960 
 
Social Media Links:
IMG_20151227_150228-1

😀 This post shows us how important it is for each one of us to share our story, you never know who will inspire to return Natural 😀

Thank you My Loves for reading, many thank yous Lovely Nimi and you all have a beautiful day 😀

6 thoughts on “Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Oluwalonimi Aworinde

Leave a Reply

