Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Kalia Robinson


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

DSCN1841

Our next guest is Lovely Ms. Kalia,

Beautiful and a very sweet young lady, please welcome Darling Tekia, 

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy Loves:

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A: Hi my name is Kalia Robinson aka Kinky4cbeauty. I was born in Philly but raised in Rocky Mount, NC. I also have an identical twin sister who has gone natural as well and her 1 year is coming up. I am a fan of Anime, Disney, learning and educating others on natural hair, and crocheting on my free time.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: Well I transitioned. So here is the story behind that. I had planned to transition for 1 year but I got so frustrated with the two textures of hair I ended up doing the big chop after 7 months. LOL

3) How long have you been natural?

A: April 20th will make three years I have been natural from the day I big chopped.

4) What made you return natural?

A: Smh so I was a secret lover of natural hair for a while. I say that because I would see woman with these beautiful puffs and I always wanted my hair to be a puff but it wouldn’t and I didn’t understand why my hair couldn’t do that (smh). One day my BFF was talking about being natural and I was so amazed that she stuck with it it encouraged me to think about it myself. I was one of those ladies who told people I was not going natural myself until I was married because my husband couldn’t divorce me over hair LOL. I always thought natural hair was pretty but not for me. like I said after my BFF started transitioning I starting doing research, going on YouTube, reading articles and books and seeing all these beautiful woman with natural styles, and I was amazed even more so then before. so next thing you know I was transitioning.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: Uumm it was expensive because I was always looking for products that would work for my hair. but I found my TWA days to be a lot less maintenance compared to my now longer tresses. I enjoyed my TWA stage I was a DIVA! lol. I learned a lot about myself that first years and it started with being able to appreciate my own hair and embracing everything that came with it. I wouldn’t say it was hard or easy my first year just a leaning experience.

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: My friends and YouTube. Also protective styling, for those days when I didn’t feel like dealing with my hair.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why?

A: Castor oil because my hair loves it it has really helped with keeping my hair moisturized using the L.O.C method. Alikay Naturals’s Lemongrass Leave-In it is great for detangling and the smell is amazing , all her products smell delicious. Last is a toss up between two products Alikay Naturals Shea Yogurt Moisturizer and Oyin Handmade Burnt Sugar Pomade ahhhhh both are amazing for styling and keeping my hair moisturized and leaving my hair super soft and it a plus that they smell so amazingly good.

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love that my hair never does the same thing twice, for example I can do my twist outs the same way and they always look different every time. I love that my hair attracts attention, I love how it makes me feel different in a good way. Its big, fluffy, wild, and loud just like me lol.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: Detangling, especially after I have worn my hair for a few days. Its just I never look forward to this task at all lol.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: I try to be supportive. I remember when I was relaxed I hated pushy people telling me what I should and shouldn’t do with my hair. So far me its about healthy hair anyway, rather you are natural or relaxed if I can help with alternative ideas that can help your hair and not damage it that makes me happy, rather its techniques to keeping your scalp healthy or referring to a YouTube channel for vloggers that practice techniques for growing healthy, moisturized hair, or sitting and talking with them about what they want for their hair goals, these are things I can do for other people.            

 

                            Natural Beauty – Picturesque

DSCN1193Kalia-ColorVersion-16IMG_20120428_083349

  Natural Beauty  – Protective Styles

HPIM0121DSCN1207

Natural Beauty  – Different Styles

IMG_2776IMG_2497IMG_20120501_121936

IMG_2350 IMG_20120428_083349 IMG_20120420_135604

IMG_20120423_123438 IMG_20120428_083349 IMG_20120429_095557

DSCN1692DSCN1682

Twitter: kinky4cbeauty

Instaggram: kinky4cbeauty

Blog site is under construction. kinky4cbeauty.wordpress.com

IMG_2441

😀 This post shows us the importance of suppporting one another and always being supportive of healthy happy hair 😀

Thank you My Girls for reading, many thank yous Ms. Robinson for participating & You all Have a Nice Day ❤

Leave a Reply

