Natural Hair Blog Feature – Our Identical Twins – Ms. Mekia


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

MEKIA (2)

Our next guest is one of our Gorgeous Twin Sisters,

An absolute doll and delightful young lady, please welcome Darling Mekia, 

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy Loves:

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A: Hi Naturalistas!

I am excited to be featured on this wonderful blog.  My twin sister and I have recently taken on the YouTube world with our natural hair and beauty channel called FashionTwinz84.  We have learned so much throughout this process and we look forward to our future as Vlog/bloggers.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: I transitioned into my natural hair journey.  When I got frustrated with my relaxed hair and made a conscious decision to go natural, I started to wear my hair in natural styles and used natural hair products.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I have been natural for 1 year and 5 months!  It has been the best decision that I ever could have made for the health of my hair. 

4) What made you return natural?

A: I decided to go natural because I had noticed that my hair began to become brittle and susceptible to spit ends and other damage.  I tried clipping the split ends, but later decided that it would be healthier to be natural.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: My first year of being natural was not as difficult as I anticipated.

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: I’m sure having my sister as a support had A LOT to do with that!  Of course, I received the ‘ugly’ stares and the countless questions about my choice to cut my “long pretty hair”  to reveal my curls and coils.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why?

A: When my journey began I started trying several different products to see what worked for my hair the best.  I quickly found that Cantu Shea Butter, Shea Moisture, and Eco Styler were IT!  The three of these still remain my staple products today. 

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love that my hair is so unique, even from my identical twin sister!  I am fortunate to be one of those naturals that can resort to the “wash-and-go hairstyle. My lifestyle is really fast paced, and with this quick and easy style I am able to maintain my momentum without compromising my style.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: Of course there are some things about being natural that requires diligence and patience.  I am not very excited when I have prepped a style and it does not turn out as planned.  However, I have learned how to “make it work”! Haha!

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: It is always my desire to inspire those who want to be natural but are lost and discouraged. That is one of the reasons that my sister and I decided to start our channel.  There, we can use that platform to allow people to see that you can be classy, educated, successful, and NATURAL!

.                                          

Relaxed Beauty 

MEKIA (6)

Natural Beauty – 1ST BIG CHOP

MEKIA (8)MEKIA (9)

Natural Beauty – 2ND BIG CHOP

MEKIA (5)

Natural Beauty – Protective Styles

MEKIA (7)

Natural Beauty – Different Styles

MEKIA (3)MEKIA (4)MEKIA (10)

MEKIA (11)MEKIA (1)

😀 Thank you our dears for inspiring us to not only to return natural but to love and cherish our unique tresses 😀

Thank you My Girls for reading, many thank yous to one of our Twins, Ms. Mekia for participating & You All Have an Amazing Day

Leave a Reply

