Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Asea


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

Photo1

Our following guest is our talented Ms. Asea.

Beautiful Girl, Lovely Smile and Excellent Goals, we all wish you the best dear!!!

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy Dears:

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A: My name is Asea (pronounced Asia) and I was born and raised in Denver, Colorado, but I currently reside in South Georgia. Currently, I am getting my Master’s Degree in Social Work. My desire is to provide counseling services, be a motivational speaker, and open a domestic violence shelter. My aim is to inspire others to embrace their natural beauty and be bold.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: I tried to transition, but it was unsuccessful. I was not patient enough to manage two textures. I decided to just chop all of my relaxer off after two months.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I have been natural since January 2012, so a total of 3 years now. At the beginning of my journey my hair was a little shorter than 1 inch in length.

4) What made you return natural?

A: I was very spontaneous and wanted to show myself that my hair does not define my beauty. As a result, I cut my hair it into a tapered style. This was one of the best decisions I made, because I realized that I was beautiful regardless of the length of my hair. From there, I decided to transition because I was curious about my natural hair texture.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: It was difficult during the first few months. I wanted my hair to be like many of the natural hair gurus that were popular at the time. I had no idea how to take care of my hair, and I was not content with my hair texture.

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: Learning to embrace my hair was the most helpful. I stopped chasing the perfect curl pattern and began to find methods and products that lead to healthier hair. Once my hair was healthy and thriving I began to enjoy my journey.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why?

A: I use a variety of products depending on the style. A few of my favorites are Kyra Shea Medleys Hydrate and Refresher Butter Cream, Giovanni 50:50 Conditioner, Lottabody Moisturize Me Curl & Style Milk, and Shea Moisture Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Shampoo and Deep Conditioner. I love these products because I find that my hair responds well to products with fatty content. My curls melt like butter when I use any of the products listed above.

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love the versatility of my hair. I see my fro as a canvas just waiting to be painted. I look at my hairstyle as an accessory. I love twist outs, bantu-knot outs, and updos. My favorite protective styles are Senegalese Twists, Crochet Braids, and U-Part Wigs. 

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: WASH DAY! Oh my goodness. Washday is such a task. I totally miss my TWA stage when I could wash in less than 20 minutes. Now, it takes me two to three hours to wash and style. It is a chore.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: I rock my natural hair with confidence daily. I love to encourage other girls to embrace their natural beauty and to be bold. I am on YouTube at Aseamae Natural (youtube.com/aseamaenatural) and on Instagram @aseamae_natural and facebook.com/aseamaenatural. I love to connect with my fellow naturalistas and answer questions for all who are curious or thinking of returning natural.

 

11) So far in your journey, what is your favorite hair style?

wandcurl

A: I’m currently big on protective styling. I love Crochet Braids. Mainly because it allows my natural hair to rest from manipulation, but I still get to rock a hairstyle the style as though it’s my natural hair. My favorite style with my natural hair is wand curls right now. I don’t get to rock it often, but when I do I love it!

Natural Beauty – Timeline

timeline

Photo2

Natural Beauty – Straight Look

IMG_9945

Natural Beauty – Different Styles

IMG_3672_Fotor_Collage_Fotor

knotlessthumb

😀 Excellent post for us to always remember, enjoy the stage you are at and love the texture you have, rock it girls 😀

Screen Shot 2015-03-29 at 1.59.41 PM

Thank you My Sweets for reading, many thank yous to Ms. Asea for participating & You All Have a Spectacular Day

2 thoughts on “Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Asea

Leave a Reply

