Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Jane Lorraine


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

 Photo 1

Our following guest is Beautiful Jane.

Our gorgeous naturalista not only has absolutely beautiful hair but is working very hard to natural meet ups and events.

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy My Ladies: 

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A: My name is Jane Lorraine and I am a 30-something social justice advocate by day and natural hair blogger at Honoring Our HAIRitage by night.  I have been natural for 4 years and one of my goals as a Naturalista is to make Ohio one of the premier spots for naturals by bringing more natural hair meet-ups, events, education, and resources.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: I transitioned for 2 years since I had no idea what I was doing with my hair!  While I transitioned, I kept my hair in cornrows but was not taking care of my hair the way I was supposed to.  It was not until 2011 that I discovered YouTube videos that helped me learn about my hair and how to care for it the right way.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I have been natural for 4 years.

4) What made you return natural?

 A: I actually went natural 3 years ago by accident!  I got tired of getting relaxers, which always gave me scalp burns, and I needed a change for the better.  I also started to learn more about the dangers of relaxers for your skin and health and wanted to truly accept my natural beauty.  I simply stopped getting relaxers and did whatever I could to maintain my hair.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: The most challenging thing about my first year after going natural was learning how to take care of my hair in its natural state, versus taking care of relaxed hair.  It is really tragic how most African American women have never learned what to do with our hair unless it has been chemically or heat straightened.  I had to start over with the basics of hair care and a completely new understanding of how to have healthy hair.

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: In 2011, I found YouTube videos that helped me learn about my hair and how to care for it the right way.  After I became comfortable with caring for my hair and learned a few basic styles, it really helped me stay natural.  Now, I have completely fallen in love with my hair and all the amazing things it can do!  My natural hair is strong and healthy and I love trying new styles.  I never knew I would love my natural hair.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why?  A: 

  1. Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner because it has great slip and an amazing smell.
  2. Cantu Shea Butter Leave-in Conditioner because it does a great job conditioning and moisturizing my hair.
  3. Natural Whipped Shea Butter because it is a super product: it styles, conditions, adds shine, and seals in moisture.

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love all the beautiful styles I can do with my hair.  From braids, to a twist-out, to a bun, to a straight style, the possibilities are endless.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: De-tangling is my least favorite because I it takes so much time.  However, I have found that if I add some coconut oil to my hair, then detangling in the shower under running water it helps.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: I inspire other naturals by supporting and hosting natural hair meet-ups and a Facebook group, the Columbus Naturalistas which is a place for naturals to share their journey, encourage each other, and come together to celebrate our natural curls.  I love seeing women come together and have a great time while learning to love their coils, curls, and kinks. 

 

11) So far in your journey, what is your favorite hair style?

Photo 2

 A: My favorite style has been the Twist-Out.  I wear this style most of the week.  It can be worn all week or used as a transitional style for puffs, buns, or a Goddess twist.

Natural Beauty

IMG_20140420_162659_121 

Curlformers1

Natural Beauty – Various Styles

Braids 2014?????????????

Yellow3Boost

 

😀 Our Jane is one amazing and busy naturalista, and her events must be awesome, so if anyone of you girls can make it, please do, am sure you will love it 😀

Would you like to know more information about our very gorgeous Naturalista, then please check out her contact links:

Facebook: http://www.Facebook.com/HonoringOurHAIRitage

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/JaneALorraine

Instagram: http://instagram.com/Honoring_Our_HAIRitage

 

Thank you Girls for reading, many thank yous to Ms. Jane for participating & You All Have a Beautiful Day 

Leave a Reply

