My Natural Hair Journey – Rhassoul Clay Mask


Welcome Summer

Welcome Summer to the Islands

 

Hello Dears,

How goes all in your world, hope so far so good and if not, then fear not, things will bet better with time.

This post is in honor of my viewers, one of my lovely commenters suggested I do a henna treatment to help with my hair trauma, and I thought that is a swell idea, too bad I did not have Henna so instead I did a Rhassoul Clay Mask and fell in loveeee. 

So here is my review in honor of the Lovely Hair Garden suggestion, plus check out her blog, really great info can be found there.

The recipe I used was found on Black Girl Long Hair by Author Christina Patrice, under below heading (to see links, just click on names in bold):

3 Popular and Affordable Clay for Natural Hair

# 3. Rhassoul Clay Mask: Soften and Moisturize

Ingredients:

  1. 1/4-1/3 Cup Rhassoul Clay
  2. Hot Water (to desired consistency)
  3. 1-2 Tablespoons Oil of Choice (Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Coconut Oil, Grapeseed Oil, etc.)
  4. 2oz Plain Greek Yogurt
  5. 2-3 Tablespoons Honey
  6. 1/2 Pureed Banana (or banana baby food)

Mixed all ingredients together and then beated with a mixer a bit, till it was just about right, 3 to 5 minutes tops. applied to hair in sections, making sure I applied well to scalp first them all the way down to ends, kind of like when you are shingling your hair. Left uncovered for an 1, then applied plastic shower cap for another 3 then washed out about 500 times, hahahaha, ok so not 500, 400, 300, ok ok ok seriously, took me about 5 washes cause boy, its a bit tough to wash out 😀 

dad19f6acdc72f29976f9040bbef15f1daaf263132c965ebf39f338205fc0e14

b5ca0568ff2d141b49dbd3474c03cd2207759f2957863103dc0f654fbae0381b

This mix worked wonders for me because my hair really needed it and yogurt was good ole protein (not recommended for those protein sensitive).  When I was detangling, it was a true dream, was able to use my wide tooth comb with conditioner and took me 1 hour less to do , usually its a 2.5 hour job while finger detangling, this time, 1.5 hour with comb, was soo happy, would definitely do again, will be ordering some more clay and henna so I can try. If you have never tried a clay mask, I encourage you to do so.

*** Word to the wise, make sure your banana is really ripe or save yourself, purchase the banana baby food, trust me, you will thank yourself for it  ***

😀 Thank you all for reading and for supporting IslandKynks and as always, love your tips, advice and sweet comments 😀

Isle of  Azure

6 thoughts on “My Natural Hair Journey – Rhassoul Clay Mask

  1. I just got my first pack of rhassoul clay and can’t wait to try it. I absolutely love bentonite and have a feeling I’ll like this too.

  2. I am glad you found a “pick me up” for your curls hun:D
    BTW that Island picture…do you want to rub it in our faces enough?! LOL such a lush looking place!

    • Hahhahaha, thanks dear and not at all, many of the girls have been asking for pictures of the Island, so have to do a post one of these days of my hometown 😀 😀 😀 do not worry the Summer is going to melt us so we will all be wishing for snow, hahahaha,
      Smiles!!!

  3. I’ve Always wanted to try a Clay Mask! However I’m unsure how it will react to my hair, since stuff is extra hard to wash out my hair. Glad you had a great wash day!

    Kenya | With My Coils

Leave a Reply

