Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Kayla


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

Pic 

 

Our following guest is Gorgeous Kayla,

Our girl has tons of hair, beautiful tresses but she did not get there in one day, it took time, patience and a whole lot of work!

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy my girls: 

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A: My name is Kayla and I was born and raised in Georgia, completed college in Alabama, and currently reside in Florida with my husband and German Sheppard dog. I’m a teacher by profession but enjoy creating content for my blog and YouTube channel in my personal time.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: Growing up I was a pressed natural. I was faithful to the salon and got my hair hot combed every other week. Wanting my hair to be more manageable, my mom got my hair relaxed right before I began the 6th grade. I remained relaxed until I transitioned in April of 2010. 1 ½ years later I cut the relaxed ends off.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I have been fully natural a little over 4 years.

4) What made you return natural?

 A: Versatility. I thought back to when I was a little girl with pressed natural hair. My hair straight without the harshness that sometimes comes with a relaxer. I wanted to wear my hair straight and then be able to go kinky/curly. I also was curious as to what my texture looked like.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: My first year of being natural was pretty hard. I didn’t have a large repertoire of styles that I could fall back on. I also received some negative reactions from people close to me (and some strangers!). It was truly a year of trial and error and a test of my patience for people’s ignorance.

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: It hasn’t been too difficult for me to remain natural. I like how my hair sets me apart and has become my signature. I wouldn’t quite be me if I drastically changed my hair with a relaxer.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why? 

A: My top 3 products would have to be Aztec Healing Clay, Tressemme Naturals Conditioner, and Camille Rose Naturals Curl Maker. The clay cleanses my hair without leaving behind un-rinsed suds and dryness. The Tressemme is multipurpose, comes in a large size, and is inexpensive. Lastly, Curl Maker really defines my hair without making it crispy, dry or unnatural looking.

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love that my hair is all mine. No one else’s hair is going to look just like it. I also love the length. I don’t come across that many people in real life that have hair this length.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: I’m not particularly fond of detangling. My hair tangles near the root which is difficult to work out. Just when I’ve thought I’ve gotten my hair free, I always find another tangle.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: I inspire others by sharing my personal journey as it is happening on my blog and channel. I have had people tell me that I helped them retain length or figure out their natural hair. These comments always touch me and let me know that I’m doing my part.

 

11) So far in your journey, what is your favorite hair style?

Pics

 A: When I first went natural I lived in twists, but the Wash and Go is becoming my favorite. Now that I know that my hair can do this style it has made me so lazy. I just slap conditioner, oil, and gel on my hair and go!

Relaxed Beauty 

12

Transitioning Beauty 

34

Newly Natural Beauty  

5

6

Natural Beauty – Current

7

8

 

 😀 Great inspiration for us, no matter the obstacle we face, once we decide to return natural, go full into your journey and love your own natural hair 😀

Would you like to know more information about our very awesome Naturalista,  please check out her contact links:

Thank you My Dolls for reading, many thank yous to Ms. Sola for participating & You All Have a Great Day 

4 thoughts on “Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Kayla

Leave a Reply

