My Natural Hair Journey – Hair Crisis


 

HPIM5209

 

Hello My Dears,

Hope all is well and you are having a nice restful weekend.

Yes, hair crisis has arrived, my hair in the back and front not only was damaged but also is thinner. So after completely worrying and having a panic attack, hahaha, worked out a plan and wanted to let you know.  When I started my blog, promised myself to always blog, the good and the bad, great ideas that worked and errors I have done. Sat down and tried to pinpoint what I have done wrong and how to fix the problem.

Here is my list of things I think I did wrong for last 4 to 6 months:

  1. Did too many loose styles and did not moisturize enough.
  2. Tried to many different methods I found online.
  3. Did pay enough attention to hair in back as she gets longer.
  4. Have not been detangling properly.
  5. Think have been over shampooing and tea rinsing.

So for the next 6 months, these are the changes I will be doing to regain health and strength of my hair:

  1. Drink 1 600 Caltrate D Vitamin per day for 1 month.
  2. Drink 1 Vitamin E pill per day plus at least 3 bottles of water per day for 6 months.
  3. Will apply Okra in hair to scalp down to the ends every night and place in rollers so it can be dry by morning.
  4. Will finger detangle with VO5 conditioner and then run through my wide tooth comb to make sure all tangles are gone.
  5. My conditioner mix will now be my Tresemme Conditioner and 1 spoon of Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie.
  6. To seal my hair and ends, will use my Raw African Shea Butter.
  7. Protective styling will be my go to 2 Strand Twists and roller set to take extra care of my ends.
  8. Apply the following oils to my scalp and ends, every 3 days for 2 months long, so about 2 bottle (4 oz.) every 2 months for 6 months: Castor Oil – April and May, Coconut Oil – June and July, Avocado Oil -August and September.  Castor Oil is excellent for growth for hair, Coconut Oil penetrates our hair shaft and Avocado Oil is amazing for our hair because it contains Vitamin E.

So as you can see, am majorly simplifying my regimen, just using my conditioner mix, seal with shea butter and apply oils and voila, this should work 🙂

As we all know, with our hair, there are our ups and our downs, but do not fret. If you notice something is going wrong, please sit down, be calm, think about what has been done that is wrong and try to remedy the problem, please do no sacrifice healthy hair for length. My Mum had to trim from 1 to 2 inches of damaged ends, did that hurt, yessssssss, but, is it worth it, ooohhhh yeahhhhh!!!! So do what you have to do.

Will report progress every 2 months to let you all know how its going and in October, will have a full report for you. Remember, goal is Healthy Happy Hair.

Thank you for reading my loves, any tips or advice you have for me, please feel free to comment and greatly appreciate all your help and support.

Isle of  Azure

17 thoughts on “My Natural Hair Journey – Hair Crisis

  1. Sorry to hear about the damage, but live and learn. …. sounds like what I discovered a few months back. … sometimes we geta little lazy with the tedious process! Sounds like a good plan so I’m sure it will be back to normal in no time! !

    • Thank youuuu dear, for the kind words and encouragement, it helps so much, of course I want to see results now, in just 10 days, hahaha but it takes time so am doing protective styles and I must say, most moisturized my hair has been in ever, so will definitely do this regimen all the time and not just 6 months, it is a bit tedious but well worth it 😀 again, thanks dear 😀
      Smiles!!!

      • I can’t wait to take my braids out and take care of my hair this time around! This is why I love my little community of supporters on here bc I gain ideas and motivation!

      • Indeed girl, its the best support system for natural hair, transitioners, and girls who are thinking of returning natural because all support each other and are sincere!!! Please do keep us updated as you go 😀 wish you the best and happy healthy hair 😀
        Smiles!!!

  2. Your regimen looks great! You should be back o healthy hair in no time! A henna conditioning treatment always does the trick for me when my hair has gone through some trauma! I like to add raw avocado and Jamaican black castor oil to my henna to kept it from making my hair dry. Daily scalp massages are a must for me as well!

Leave a Reply

