Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Sola


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

 may_2014

 

Our next guest is Lovely Sola.

Not only does our beauty have gorgeous natural hair but is an amazing role model for her own beautiful girls.

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy my dolls: 

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A: My name is Sola but on social media, I am known as DiscoveringNatural. I love all things natural hair and share that passion with my daughters. I try my best to inspire everyone who is struggling with natural hair to stay motivated and know that there is help out there for them.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: I transitioned for a year, from November 2011 to November 2012. Due to the fact that I had transitioned my older daughter the year prior, I knew that this was the route I wanted to take. Transitioning was the way for me because it gave me time to gradually learn about how to care for my hair.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I have been fully natural now for 2 years. If you want to count when I started the journey, then add the one year of transitioning. For me, I always start from when I did the transitioning big chop.

4) What made you return natural?

 A: When my daughter was transitioning, I decided that I wanted to be a role model for her. I did not just want to help her to be natural, I also wanted to experience it myself. This has brought us closer together.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: The hardest thing was retaining moisture. It was hard but it could have been harder if I just big chopped without proper education. Also, it took me a while to embrace the shrinkage. I’m so over it now.

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: Co-washing!! Not only did co-washing help me with retaining moisture, it helped keep my hair soft. I co-wash often and only use shampoo when I need to clarify my hair.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why? 

A: I love Deep conditioners. Shea Moisture Deep Conditioners and hair masques are my loves! My favorite is the 10-in-1 hair masque which provides my hair with long lasting softness and moisture. For hair milks, I love the Shea Moisture Curl and Style Milk. The shine and softness it gives me is wonderful. The best part is it works for my daughters and I. The last favorite of mine is the Naturalicious Moroccan Rhassoul Clay 5-in-1 Treatment. This not only cleanse, but conditions my hair in one step.

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: Natural hair is wonderful! I love the fact that I can recreate different styles. The beauty of natural hair is amazing.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: Detangling! I hate detangling. The only time I do not have to detangle my hair is when I use the Naturalicious Moroccan Rhassoul Clay, which does the job for me.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: I share a lot of information on my Facebook page that helps other. I also show them on my YouTube page, how one can manage their natural hair.

11) So far in your journey, what is your favorite hair style?

oct_2014_twistout

 A: Twist Outs are my no-fail hairstyle.

Relaxed Beauty 

relaxed

Transitioning Beauty 

transitioning

Natural Beauty  – 2012

nov_2012

Natural Beauty – 2014

dec_2014

Natural Beauty – Various Styles

march_2013

shrinkageaug_2014

jan_2014

Natural Beauty – Thick Twists

twists

 

 😀 Love her story, shows us how important it is to support one another, especially in our own homes with our families 😀

Would you like to know more information about our very beautiful Naturalista, then please check out her contact links:

YouTube: DiscoveringNatural: (http://youtube.com/DiscoveringNatural)
 DNVlogsLife (Family vlog channel)http://youtube.com/DNVlogsLife)
Instagram: DiscoveringNatural
Twitter: sawahtwit
 My favorite season is Fall.

Thank you My Dolls for reading, many thank yous to Ms. Sola for participating & You All Have a Great Day 

3 thoughts on “Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Sola

Leave a Reply

