Natural Hair Blog Feature

Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Keisha Charmaine


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

keisha charmaine
Natural for 4 years and 8 months

Our following guest is Beautiful Ms. Keisha.

She has gorgeous locs, loves them, and has a vast knowledge of their care and maintenance.

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy my sweets: 

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A: Love & Light! I am Keisha Charmaine, best known for creating YouTube videos about loc maintenance, loc styling, natural hair care, beauty, and more. I also create loc accessories available for sale through my online boutique.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both, or Natural from Birth?

A: I transitioned back to natural after having a perm for 10 years. After high school, I started to gradually cut off my perm and wore box braid extensions for my entire freshman year of college. Immediately after completing my first year of college, on May 15, 2010, I started my loc journey.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I stopped relaxing my hair in June 2009. Since I didn’t big chop, I don’t like to measure how long I’ve been natural however I’ve been loc’d for 4 years and 8 months. I appreciate every minute of it.

4) What made you return naturally?

 A: I was spiritually guided to return naturally. It was inevitable. I believe college was the perfect opportunity for me to return as it was a transitional period in my life so it was very natural to transition from permed to natural at that moment.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: I was spiritually guided to return naturally. It was inevitable. I believe college was the perfect opportunity for me to return as it was a transitional period in my life so it was very natural to transition from permed to natural at that moment. 

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: I started to truly appreciate my natural hair. Relaxed hair got a lot less beautiful to me as I opened my eyes to the beauty of my own natural hair. I formed a bond with it and I wanted nothing more than to see it grow full and long. Since long locs were my ultimate goal, I embraced every length my locs took on knowing that I may never experience that length again.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why? 

A: My 3 favorite products are Coconut Oil, African Black Soap, and Peppermint Soap. I love the smell of coconut and the oil leaves my hair feeling incredibly soft. I love African Black Soap because it leaves my hair and scalp incredibly clean without a stripped feeling; my hair feels well nourished when I use that soap. Lastly, I love Peppermint Soap because the smell is amazing and it leaves my scalp feeling cool and refreshed. All of these products are natural or have natural ingredients which I thoroughly adore.

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love that people tell me that they aspire to have hair like mine. Women, even those older than me, tell me that they are inspired by me and that I’m the reason that they loc their hair. This means the most to me because we have been conditioned to believe that our natural hair is ugly and unattractive. To be able to influence women of all ages into understanding the beauty of natural hair, it’s incredibly gratifying and rewarding.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: My least favorite task when dealing with my natural hair is drying my locs. Artificial heat is no friend to natural hair, especially when it comes to retaining length. Being that locs are so compact, they are great at holding water. My favorite way to wear my locs are curled, and if my curl set doesn’t dry thoroughly then my curls won’t come out as beautifully as I desire.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return naturally?

A: I inspire other women to return naturally by showing off the beauty of my natural hair and by educating them on how to take care of their hair. I do this via my YouTube channel. I create videos showcasing my hair journey, length checks/hair updates, style tutorials, maintenance tips and so much more.

11) So far in your journey, what is your favorite hairstyle?

THUMBhairnetcurl

 A: My favorite hairstyle is a Perm Rod Curl Set. They create lovely tight curls when you use one loc per roller. They become brand new styles every day as the curls drop.

 Natural Beauty 

modelkc

Natural Beauty – Various Colors

2copy

essence5

1redstraight

1redwavy

Natural Beauty  – Styling Process

??????????

Words of Wisdom for Us:

“Your hair journey is not simply about your hair. It is more importantly a spiritual journey.”- Keisha Charmaine

 😀 Locs is a style I greatly admire, they take time, persistence, and patience, they truly are Natural Beauty in every sense of the word 😀

If would you like to know more information about our very upbuilding Naturalista, then please check out her contact links:

 My favorite season is Spring and my favorite flowers are Tulips and Sunflowers.

❤ Thank you My Sweets for reading, and many thank yous to Ms. Amber for participating & You All Have a Wonderful Day 

4 thoughts on “Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Keisha Charmaine”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.