Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Nika


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

pics (1)

 

Our next guest is Cutie Pie Nika,

She has one of the most beautiful smiles I have ever seen, portrays warmth and utter sweetness!!!

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy my Divas: 

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A: My name is Nika. I’m from Monroe, Louisiana and I’m currently living in Shreveport, Louisiana.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: I started out natural until the age of 10 yrs old. I got my first relaxer at the age of 11 yrs. old.  I chose to transition for 7 months from February 5, 2011 to September 24, 2011, and then I did the big chop.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I have been natural for 3 years.

4) What made you return natural?

 A: I didn’t like my relaxed hair because it was very thin. It never held a curl, and it would literally be stuck to my head from chemical burns. I didn’t want to go through that anymore so I chose to transition.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: I really enjoyed my short natural hair. It was so easy to manage. I just did wash n go’s. I am glad I have more length now because my twist outs last longer than it did when my hair was shorter. I’ve been natural for 2 years now, and I’m enjoying my natural hair journey.  

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: I have been enjoying not having to sit in a beauty salon for hours just to get my hair relaxed. I definitely don’t miss the chemical burns I use to get on my scalp from the relaxer. Those reasons alone help me to remain natural.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why? 

A: I love Extra Virgin Olive Oil because it penetrates the hair strand, and it leaves my hair so soft. I love Giovanni Smooth as Silk Conditioner and VO5 Kiwi Lime Squeeze Clarifying Conditioner because they have great slip, and they leave my hair very soft, shiny and defined. I also love Eco Styler Argan Oil Gel because it lays my edges down really well. As long as I have those three things a conditioner, an oil, and a gel for these edges. I’m good to go because I use the Giovanni conditioner as a co-wash and a leave in. I would apply the olive oil to seal, the gel on my edges, and I could be out the door. I’m all about simplicity! 

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love the versatility of my hair. I can go from straight to curly to wavy to coily. It can go from a high puff one day to a big curly fro the next day. I can do so much with my natural hair. I love it.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: My least favorite task is detangling my hair whenever there are single strand knots in it.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: My advice is to love the hair that grows naturally from your scalp. Natural hair is beautiful. If you are thinking about going natural I think you should go for it because going natural is the best decision I have ever made, and my scalp is healthier. My hair has grown longer than it has ever been, and it’s because I went natural. It’s an awesome feeling to be a natural. You can go from curly to straight and right back to curly. Natural hair is very versatile, and that’s what I love about it. Natural hair is definitely not boring because you can do so much with it. I say go for it and tune out all negative opinions around you. 

11) So far in your journey, what is your favorite hair style?

pics (2)pic (1)

 A: When my hair was short I only wore it out with a head band. Since my hair is longer I wear high buns, twist-outs, braid-outs, and flat twist-outs. My favorite go-to style of them all is the High Bun.

 Big Chop & Three Years Later

Big chop and 3yrs later

Natural Beauty 

14224103571941

Natural Beauty  – Various Styles

1422410703360

pics (4)

1422410835344

Words of  Wisdom For Us:

´“Be Patient With Yourself…Beautiful Things Take Time To Grow” ~PiecesofNika

😀 This post shows the importance of loving the hair that grows out of each of our scalps, love, accept and cherish you tresses, they are your own unique DNA 😀

Would you like to know more information about our very awesome Naturalista, then please check out her contact links:

YouTube Channel named PiecesofNika: http://www.youtube.com/user/MrsNikaR
Instagram: @PiecesofNika

Thank you My Sweets for reading , many thank yous to Ms. Nika for participating & You All Have an Amazing Day 

8 thoughts on “Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Nika

Leave a Reply

