Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Emmanuella Desaree


!!!WELCOME TO ISLANDKYNKS BLOG FEATURE!!!

 picture attachment for introduction

 

¨Please welcome our following guest, Beautiful Ms. Emmanuella,

Not only is this girl gorgeous, has amazing brown eyes but also recently did her Big Chop, a true pleasure to have her with us!

Here is her Natural Hair Story, do enjoy my ladies: 

1) Please introduce your amazing self.

A:  My name is Emmanuella Desaree and I’m a Nigerian student living in South Africa . I recently just big chopped after on and off trials to go natural over the years.

2) Did you Transition, Big Chop, Both or Natural from Birth?

A: I transitioned for about 3 months and then big chopped late November 2014.

3) How long have you been natural?

A: I’ve been natural calculating post big chop for about one month but pre big chop for about 3 months plus.

4) What made you return natural?

 A: Growing up, My mother kept cutting my hair and I remembered how the hair I had then differed from the hair I had after relaxing..let’s just say I was very curious as to what my hair would look and feel like if I went natural.

5) How hard or easy was your first year of being natural?

A: Well I’m still in my first year and so far,so good. The only issue I have besides negativity from other people is combing. My coils are tightly packed and makes it very hard to detangle.But slowly I’m getting better at it and also getting better at shunning negative comments,after all…it’s my hair.

6) What helped you the most, to remain natural?

A: During previous trials I remember I wasn’t emotionally secure enough about my looks so I always went back to relaxers. Then I decided to challenge myself to love my appearance with or without altered hair. So I guess my quest for self acceptance, strong love for the hair I was born with and being able to be comfortable in my own skin is what keeps me going.

7) Your 3 favorite products and why? A: 

  1. Castor Oil — it is great for sealing ends and keeps my hair shining.
  2. Unprocessed Shea Butter — it keeps my hair healthy and conditions it. It’s very good for hair repairs.
  3. Jabu Stone Moisturizer — keeps my hair moisturized 24/7 and soft all day long.

8) What do you love about your unique tresses?

A: I love that my natural hair has a dark and healthy color which is something I didn’t have with my relaxed hair that was rather brown in color. I love my curl pattern and I love that my hair retains moisture and is almost forever shining.

9) What is your least favorite task when dealing with your natural hair?

A: Again! I hate combing! I loathe and detest combing! The hatred runs so deep I can’t point out it’s origin lol. Even when wet, knots are still an issue.

10) How do you inspire other girls to return natural?

A: I really don’t try to inspire people to become natural ,although I share my stories with the secret hope that It will give some girl out there the strength to begin her own natural journey.But my wish and hope is that my blogs and stories are strong enough to inspire someone out there to go natural without having to suggest it to them out rightly or pointing it out.

11) So far in your journey, what is your favorite hair style?

favourite hairstyle

 A: Since I’m only about 3 months along there isn’t much I do with my hair.I’m mostly on protective styles.I’m currently carrying one.

Relaxed Beauty – June 2014

1419740927539

Transitioning Beauty – Months 1,2,3,5 – November 2014

1419741169851

 Transitioning Beauty – Month 4 – November 2014

transitioning hair 41

Natural Beauty – November & December 2014

big chop11

1419741509441

Words of  Wisdom For Us:

Going Natural is a journey, a journey of self discovery and self acceptance.It’s like stripping your clothes off and standing in the mirror and saying ‘yes, I accept myself with all the features I was born with’ so enjoy every stage of your hair’s journey because in every one there are new lessons to learn both life wise and hair wise.

Favorite Tree is Jacaranda Tree

😀 Thank you our dear for sharing your story with us, shows us to love not only our hair but ourselves as Beautiful Strong Women 😀

Would you like to know more information about our Sweet Naturalista, then on to her BlogLoveThyCoils

❤ Thank you My Divas for reading & many thank yous to Ms. Emmanuella for participating & You All Have an amazing Great Day 

13 thoughts on “Natural Hair Blog Feature – Ms. Emmanuella Desaree

  1. I love love love her words of wisdom – “Going Natural is a journey, a journey of self discovery and self acceptance. It’s like stripping your clothes off and standing in the mirror and saying ‘yes, I accept myself with all the features I was born with'” Also, “my quest for self acceptance, strong love for the hair I was born with and being able to be comfortable in my own skin is what keeps me going.”
    Truly a delight to meet Emmanuella 🙂
    PS – girlllll, I hear you re color of hair with relaxers. I think its the general make up of relaxer on natural hair. I also hated that brownish color!

  2. She is so beautiful… Wait till her hair is longer than its ever been and everyone will want it… She will never regret it.

  3. Pingback: BLOG FEATURE | Love Thy Coils

Leave a Reply

