My Natural Hair Journey – 2 Week Challenge


 

 

Island Flower

Island Flower

Good Morning Lovelies,

Today my 2 Week Challenge starts, but first let me explain why I am doing this.

Yesterday was wash day and experienced twice the shedding I normally do, freaked out, YES, but then started to think and I can figure out what happened. Here is my theory:

The past month I have been finger detangling, doing a tea-leave in, doing apple cider rinse, washed with a strong shampoo, scratching scalp like crazy plus doing protective style one week, but loose styles second week and manipulating my hair a lot, so as you can see, this amounts to a whole lot of shedding right!!! Should have know better but we live and learn and boy have I learned my lesson from this trial.

So then of course something has to be done, that is where the challenge comes in. For the next 2 weeks will do the following:

  • Hair will be kept in small twists for protective style.
  • Will apply Aloe Vera Gel (the plant) to my ends & scalp daily and hair every 3 days – Morning Time.
  • Do the LCO (Liquid-Cream-Oil) method every 4 days. – Night Time.
  • Wrap tresses every night with satin scarf and voila, that’s it.

My Wash Day will also be simplified the following manner for the next 2 1/2 months:

  1. Detangle hair with oil, conditioner and place in 12 big loose twists.
  2. Will Finger-Comb and run wide teeth comb to make sure hair is fully detangled, gently of course 🙂
  3. Wash hair and follow up with tea rinse this time.
  4. Proceed to style in twists or braids, or any other protective style.

Improvements I will love to see with this 2 week challenge:

  • Less Shedding, at least only 1400 hairs, we lose 100 a day times 2 weeks, yes I count when shedding increases 😀
  • Healthier hair with Sheen
  • Length increased by 1/2″

Thank you for reading ladies, will stick to this challenge and keep you updated every 3 days.

“Isle of  Azure”

9 thoughts on “My Natural Hair Journey – 2 Week Challenge

  1. Pingback: My Natural Hair Journey – 2 Week Challenge Complete | islandkynks

  2. I’m also working on the amount of shedding I have. My hair is heat damaged right now, so it’s super fragile and I feel like everything I do only manages to pull out scary amounts of hair. I’ve been finger detangling to help, but I’m going to try some of these! Thanks for posting!

    • Anytime doll, shedding is the scariest phase of natural hair, especially when you shed more than normal, but by posting about it, we learn from each other other how to take care of our lovely tresses. Keep up the great work 🙂
      Smiles!!!

  3. I’ve been concerned with my shedding too! I dry detangled with a brush on Friday and a lot of shedding happened when I was taking out my protective style. I’m really trying to reduce that. Since I no longer think its just general shedding but breakage.

Leave a Reply

