Hair Product Review – Oyin Handmade Burnt Sugar Pomade


One of the Best!!!!

One of the Best!!!!

Hello Darlings,

Hope your week is off to a good start!

The first product review has to be one of my favorites, of course.

Without further ado, I present one of the best pomades found on Earth “Oyin Handmade Burnt Sugar Pomade“, you can purchase here.

Love this pomade, you really have to, in order to spend $20 on 8oz. of product, but I can assure you, it’s worth every penny.

First of all, it is made with excellent products like coconut, olive, castor, soybean, different kinds of butters, etc and no mineral oil nor petrolatum. Second the smell is delicious, like Grandma’s yummy oven baked cookies, yes you will want to eat it, no it does not taste good, hahaha, yes had to taste it!!! Third, the product can last a very long time, reason is you only need a little bit applied to each section of your hair and then style away. With this pomade, a little does go a long way, so no need to use a lot of it.

If you decide to purchase, a suggestion is to go ahead and buy the 8oz one instead, because it is a better deal. Now for those with a sensitive sense of smell, the Sugar Berries might be your preference, but if you love scents, then Burnt Sugar is the one for you.

What does the product do for my 4C kinky hair? It adds shine like no other, before this product, my hair had sheen but no shine, when I added this product, SHINE CITY, my hair was gleaming all over, was very happy, hehehe. It keeps my tresses completely moisturized for 3 days straight, on the 4th day and after that, you can apply a little bit of the pomade (you will know how much), every other day and no worries whatsoever. The styles I have tried with the Burn Sugar Pomade are twists and the twist outs and they come out absolutely amazing!!! For those who love pomades, try this one and see how it works for your hair texture.

My hair loves pomades, finally figured that out 1 year later (better late then never), so when I used this one, had to purchase both of them, because it works in my hair texture. Hopefully, it will do the same for yours!!!!

Here are 2 pictures of the pomade applied to my hair, camera does not do it justice, but you get the main idea (I really love pink).

Two Strand Twists

Two Strand Twists

Two Strand Twists Outs

Two Strand Twists Outs

Thank you very much Lovelies for reading, hopefully if you are looking for a great pomade, this one will work for you. Smiles.

“Isle of Azure”

9 thoughts on “Hair Product Review – Oyin Handmade Burnt Sugar Pomade

  1. Yes I love this stuff. My hair is on the 4a side with medium density and I think low porosity. My hair absorbs products easily but I still need products with alot of hold. I need products 🙂 anyway, I say all this to say I love this tuff too. It leaves the hair so soft and amazing. I don’t use it too much though because I love my KKKC 🙂 Just trying to keep my stash simple these days 🙂 A little goes a very long way with this great product. Oyin has the best products. I absolutely love the Hair Dew. Can’t live without it 🙂

    • Girl, you are so right, we gotta keep it simple, sooooo hard but got to keep it simple. Have not tried the Hair Dew yet but keep hearing great things about it, will try it in the future. Yes Oyin has excellent products, and worth every dollar!!!
      Thanks for your info babe and take care my Curly Gigi!!!!
      Smooches!!!

    • Hello Afrikan Butterfly,

      Thanks girl, yes noticed when I went natural, my hair turned really dark, am happy, hehehe.

      Ok this is how I used this product, freshly washed hair, then applied my conditioner mix (will post about this soon, promise), olive oil (any oil of your choice is fine) and then the pomade.

      Reason I did the above, is because we were traveling for a week and only wanted to take a small bottle of pomade, and that is all I needed, re-applied just a small dab every other day and was fine.

      So yes, styling product after applying a leave in.

      I always do the L.O.C. method, (http://www.partyoverhair.com/natural-101-the-loc-method/) before applying my pomade so the hair stays moisturized for the next couple days, it really helps a lot!!! Check it out in the above link.

      Thank you love for reading and take care,

      • Isleofazure,

        Thank you so much for your post. I’ve searched the Internet for several days to understand how to best use this product. You completely broke it down! I more than appreciate this, I’m looking for glycerin free products for the summer.

      • Awesome my dear Jillian, you are truly most welcomed 😀 😀 :D, hahaha, am so happy that was able to assist you and do hope this works beautifully for your tresses, wishing you the best!!!
        Smilies!!!!!

  2. Hey Girl,

    Thanks for asking. Yes, some pomades on day 2 leave the hair as dry as chip.

    The Burnt Sugar pomade when applied, did not feel greasy at all, felt very light, like coconut oil and left the hair very soft to the touch plus keeps in the moisture.

    If you are still not sure if it will work, try to order the 4oz jar and use this coupon: http://www.retailmenot.com/s/oyin. The codes are great and work, I know because that’s how I ordered my pomades.

    Another suggestion & what I always do before purchasing any hair product is reading the reviews, so here are 3 links for you to check out:

    http://www.curlynikki.com/2009/12/oyins-burnt-sugar-pomade.html

    http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlproducts/view/2799/oyin-burnt-sugar-pomade

    http://www.amazon.com/Oyin-Handmade-Burnt-All-Veggie-Pomade/dp/B00AFISYE6

    That way you can see the pro’s and the con’s of the product. Thank you and hope this info helps.

    Toodles!!!

  3. I dont use pomades because they usually leave my hair very greasy to the point where I have to wash it out. My scalp is ALWAYS dry so i use pure coconut oil but I would like to try this product. Did it make your greasy kinda shiny or was it just about right? I know its knid of hard to answer but I do see that you said only a small amount should be used.

Leave a Reply

